Welcome to the Mpumalanga Provincial Government


01 November 2018

Premier Mtshweni has announced that the provincial government has intervened with Section 139 (1) (a) of the Municipal Financial Management Act (MFMA) in five distressed municipalities which are Emalahleni, Thaba Chweu, Govan Mbeki, Lekwa and Msukaligwa.

These municipalities were found to be defaulting on payments of their creditors, their actual current expenditure was also found to be exceeding their actual current revenue, and they also incurred operating deficit in most recent financial years.

This recurring failure has impacted on their ability to procure goods and services as well as providing the much-needed services to communities.

The municipalities are not necessarily placed under administration, but are being provided with support by the provincial government.

Task teams led by the Provincial Treasury and COGTA encompassing specialists in elements of the financial management, have already been dispatched and are currently working tirelessly to develop and implement financial recovery plans in these municipalities.

The provincial government will continuously monitor the implementation of the recovery plan, assit the municipalities to turn around their financial health and viability.

Issued by Zibonele Mncwango
Spokesperson: Mpumalanga Premier
Mpumalanga Provincial Government
Office of the Premier

Tel: (013) 766 2453
Mobile: 082 616 6698
E-mail: zmncwango@prem.mpg.gov.za

Go back | Print current page Print this page | Return to top